T13 Set Bonus Analysis: New Druid Healing Spec in 4.3?

Sorry about the long downtime folks, I would have been home a lot sooner but I got distracted during the drive back.

The whiskey is a lie.

A word to the wise: skip this place.  I sampled water from just about every portion of that bay and absolutely NONE of it was whiskey.

Anyways, last week some Twitter people datamined the new Tier 13 set bonuses and there are some very interesting conclusions to be made for druids.  Here’s what they were able to find:

 Druid

  • Balance, 2P – Insect Swarm increases all damage done by your Starfire, Starsurge, and Wrath spells against that target by 3%.
  • Balance, 4P – Starsurge generates 100% extra Lunar or Solar energy while Eclipse is not active.
  • Feral, 2P – While Berserk is active, Savage Defense absorbs are 100% larger, and your Blood in the Water talent now causes Ferocious Bite to refresh the duration of your Rip on targets with 60% or less health.
  • Feral, 4P – Frenzied Regeneration also affects all raid and party members, and your Stampede talent now grants two charges after using Feral Charge (Cat).
  • Restoration, 2P – After using Innervate, the mana cost of your healing spells is reduced by 25% for 15 sec.
  • Restoration, 4P – Your Rejuvenation and Regrowth spells have a 10% chance to Timeslip and have double the normal duration.

Okay, let’s analyze these one at a time:

Balance:

I’m a little annoyed that I’ll have to start putting Insect Swarm on the targets, but I guess that’s not too big of a deal.  I also haven’t really figured out what Lunar and Solar energy do since I thought rogues were the only ones that used energy.  Possible ties to the legendary?

Overall, until I find out what this energy stuff is, I give these set bonuses a score of 6.5

Feral:

Here’s where things start to get a little interesting. Bears have always had this little ability called Frenzied Regeneration:

Not my job.

Yeah, I know.  Pretty worthless, right?  I mean isn’t that what the healer is there for?  I’m not gonna spend my rage and lower my dps just because you can’t get your shit together.

But the 4-piece bonus now has the potential to be very helpful.  The healer yells out in vent “I forgot to save my mana and the boss is about to kill us all!  Help us Aldous!” and then I go “no prob bitches /yell I AM SAVING YOUR LIVES” and i pop this cooldown and i’m a hero forever.

This gigantic “healing” cooldown is also what really tipped me off as to what I think Blizz has planned for the next spec…

Oh, and I give the feral set bonuses a score of 12

Resto:

This tree has always been the redheaded stepchild of the Druid family.  Druid dps has really always followed the pattern of: boozekin>bear>resto and as a result you really don’t see anyone playing resto anymore.

Chances are you’ve never tried it either so I’ll give you a quick rundown of how it works Pre-4.2:

(spoiler alert: it’s a terrible and boring rotation)

Put up your dots, cast wrath until Fury of Stormrage procs, cast Starfire.  Repeat, refreshing dots as necessary.

Right now it’s basically just a gimped boozekin without the cool boozekin form.  Who would want to play that?  Nobody, that’s who.  And also straight edge people I guess.  That’s why I think Blizz is totally gonna revamp the resto tree and change it from a dps spec to a HEALING spec.

I know it sounds a bit outlandish, but it’s right there in the datamined information: “the mana cost of your HEALING spells.”  Not just that, but I think the game could really use a new healing class, and here’s why.

Back when Wrath came out, we only had 3 tanking specs and Blizz felt like that was a bit too limiting and so they added Death Knights into the game.  After some tweaks, DKs have turned into our 3.5th tanking class.  They don’t use shields and so they’re not really strong enough to handle any bosses on their own, but they work just fine as off-tanks.

My guess is that Blizz will be doing the same thing with Druids.  Making them sort of an “off-healer.”  Not really strong enough to actually handle anyone on their own, but they can help out and heal people that aren’t taking much damage so that they feel important.

Resto set bonuses get a score of 31

My only real question: what animal form will this new healer spec use?  It has to be an animal that has natural instincts to be protective and to nurture their young but also an animal that would be able to hold their own in a fierce battle.

Here’s my best guess:

Tsu Tain Roo Kanga

What do you guys think about the potential for a new healing spec?  And what do you think the form will be?

One response to “T13 Set Bonus Analysis: New Druid Healing Spec in 4.3?

  1. You should have found a picture of a kangaroo and its baby, with only the baby’s tail sticking out of the pouch. I’m sure you see why.

Leave a Reply

